Phil’s Pages; Chapter 8

Hey there everyone! Thanks for joining me again for my weekly update. It has been an exciting one for me. My single is now in the top 40 of the country charts, my video has been doing well on country music video channels, and I am still busy singing and living the dream. I’m very blessed. I performed Saturday in Knoxville, Tenn., at a Church of God Winterfest gathering with an estimated audience of 19,000. It is an annual event and I have actually played there before, in 2002 and 2000. It was nice to go back and see familiar faces.

After this week, there will only be 10 finalists left on American Idol Season 7. These will be the 10 folks who go on to put on the American Idol Live Tour this coming summer. Allow me for one second to toot the horn of former American Idol winner Carrie Underwood. Last year, when the field was narrowed down to the final 10, each of us received a gift package from none other than Carrie herself. It included a note of congratulations and a blue box from Tiffany’s. Inside the box was a silver necklace that had a pendant attached. One side of the dog-tag-looking pendant had our individual name and the other side said “love, CU”. Receiving a gift from Carrie was very encouraging, and it meant a lot to every one of us.

This kind gesture from Carrie was symbolic to us that a very special opportunity had been given to us, and indeed it had. In the coming weeks, eliminations will be less hard than the weeks before, because these contestants who are now great friends will reunite for the summer to tour the nation and thrill audiences everywhere. I offer my sincerest congratulations to each one of them.

To those who have been eliminated, remember that millions of people have seen your extraordinary talent and they want to hear your story. Don’t be discouraged by your premature elimination. You were a part of one of American Idol’s strongest seasons and should be proud of your accomplishments. I look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Phil’s Pages: Chapter 8 – Idol Chatter – USATODAY.com

Leave a comment